Day 1 of the 31DBB Challenge!

Hi everyone!

I am posting something in two places on my blog in an effort to make sure my blog “homework” is done.  You see, I’ve joined in a 400+ women movement to seek to improve my blogging skills.  In the next 31 days I will be posting EVERY DAY.  That’s right- every day.  This is a huge commitment for me, but I think it will be worth it.  Below is my first assignment, which is to write an “Elevator Pitch.”  This is meant to promote myself and my blog by describing who I am, what my blog is, and why people should read it. I’ve also posted it in my “About Nat” page, because it will stay there until I need to change it. I’m so excited to do this challenge, and hope that I can rise to the occasion!  If you want more info about the 31 Days to a Better Blog Challenge, you can click here.

My short elevator pitch is simple:  Crafting Crazy:  An Adventure in Threads.

Here’s my long elevator pitch:

My name is Natalie Chiles and I am Crafting Crazy.  The “crafting” part of Crafting Crazy comes from my newfound lust interest in making anything I can.  I have always had a creative side, but lately it just seems to keep coming even when I’d like to take a break.  The “crazy” part of Crafting Crazy comes from several places.  The biggest one is that while I have a lot of creativity ready to let loose, I would not consider myself an expert in the newest craft I have taken on: sewing.  I mess up.  A lot.  But I feel that messing up is often the best way to learn.  (Hopefully I won’t waste too much money in the process)   My hope is that, through this blog, I can show others that learning is the key, not perfection.  I am a lifelong learner, and I’m not embarrassed to make mistakes (most of the time), so I will post the good, the bad and the ugly for all to see.  I’d also like to use this blog as a way to track my journey as I take on this new crafting life and hopefully generate some products that might make other people ecstatic.

Some other parts of the “crazy” in Crafting Crazy:

  • I don’t follow directions all the time.  Need to work on that.
  • I knit.
  • I can be a bit obsessive in some areas.
  • I bake sometimes.  I used to bake all the time, but now that I have kids I think I’ll be baking a lot more.  I will post cooking and baking things from time to time because I do feel that food is a craft all unto itself.
  • I scrapbook, though I haven’t in quite some time.  Perhaps some of that will come through in my projects- we’ll see!
  • I recently moved into a house that needs lots of TLC without lots of cash.  How does one solve this?  One gets crafty, I think.  Home improvement posts will also show up here and there.

Please check out my other blog here.  I wanted to start Crafting Crazy because I don’t want my kids to have to sift through posts about their childhood and come across eight million posts about sewing, crafting and cooking in the mix.  I hope they’ll thank me later.

Thanks for stopping by!   Please leave a comment if you do- I love to know when people are reading my posts!

And since a few people have asked already, yes, those are my eyes in my header.
🙂
3 Responses to “Day 1 of the 31DBB Challenge!”


  1. 1 Sasha July 19, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Yeah for the 31DBBB Challenge!! I just completed Day 1’s work too and wasn’t sure where to plop it up on my WordPress site, thanks for giving a great example, I look forward to seeing what you do on Day 2,3 and beyond!!
    XOXOX HVC

  2. 2 dancing July 19, 2010 at 10:30 am

    hi nat, it’s me. i love your other blog and so far i love this one too. what a treat to read (daily!) about all the creative things you’ll be up to in the next month. i also love how you really seem to put your heart into everything that you do. you’re inspiring!!!! =) xo

  3. 3 This Belle Rocks July 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Hello! Love your elevator pitches! I’m not sure I’ll have time to get mine in today, as I just joined the SITStahs (and the movement), but maybe I can retro-fit it in. Or be a day behind, as sometimes the prompts may not come when I can get them in.

    Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

Blogging Challenge!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

SITS-stahs!

Twitter Updates


