What’s in YOUR Bookmark Bar?

This is Day #2 of the 31DBB challenge (see the button on the right to get more info!).

I’ve been wracking my brain with this one, trying to think of a list that I could share that would be helpful and worthy of someone else’s eyes and time.  Something that came to mind is what I have in my bookmark bar in my browser.  This is such a useful tool that, until recently, I didn’t realize could be so helpful in my day-to-day technological life.  So while this may not be a crafty post, it certainly keeps my crafty self a bit more organized.

If you’re a new techie and don’t know what the bookmark bar is, there is a bar that runs across the top of your browser window to which you can add the places you most commonly visit on a daily basis online.  If you’re a tab-o-holic like me, I like to have several tabs open at once, and these buttons make it easier to jump from place to place with less typing and more surfing.

Here’s a screenshot of my bookmark bar, in case you still aren’t sure where to look:

So, you’ll see a few of mine listed above, but I’ll go ahead and list all of my bookmarks here.  I’ve linked them up if necessary/helpful, and given them a description in case you aren’t familiar with them.

  1. Yahoo:  About once or twice a day I click on Yahoo to mentally check out of  my world and see what’s happening in the rest of the world.
  2. Google Maps:  Because everyone should know where they are going.
  3. Cozi:  I’m not completely sold on Cozi yet, but my husband and I are trying it out as a means to coordinate when the school year starts out.  Jury is still out.
  4. Picnik:  If you’ve never tried Picnik give it a whirl- you can do so many cool things with photos in a simple way.  It’s like Photoshop for dummies.
  5. Blog Frog:  If you’re a SITS-tah- holla holla!  This is a great place to find online communities.  This is how I heard about the 31DBB challenge.
  6. Facebook:  duh.
  7. Something for Sanity (my family blog)
  8. Crafting Crazy (you’re reading it now!)
  9. Big Tent:  I’m part of a local group of moms, and Big Tent is where we meet up online to have online forums and arrange get-togethers.  It’s a great tool if you need to gather a group, and you can also start online groups across the country/world, I imagine.
  10. All Recipes:  This is my go-to site for finding recipes.  I love having a recipe box, and now their “pro” app on the iPhone lets you access your recipe box on your phone- no more cooking with my laptop above the range or scrawling down recipes on post-its.  One step closer to paper-free!
  11. Bank:   I’d give you my bank info, but then I’d have to kill you.
  12. Pingg:  I’ve started using Pingg instead of Evite for invitations to things.  My friend Kari turned me onto it and I love it.
  13. Mobile Me:  I’m a Mac girl, and Mobile Me keeps my world connected via my iPhone.   I also love to use it to share photos with family- no clogging inboxes anymore.
  14. Ravelry:  If you knit, you should check out Ravelry.  Tons of free patterns and communities, and you can find a local group to knit with if you want!
  15. Kaboodle:  Do you Kaboodle?  With Kaboodle you can dream of things you want, or keep track of things you need, or a combination thereof.  Kaboodle is like the ultimate registry for your family.  I have a list for my kids, myself and my husband.  Then, if I see something online and think, “That’s rad!  I want that!”  I add it to my Kaboodle list.
  16. Add to my Kaboodle:  This is a button you can add to your bar- see something you like?  Click the button and add it to the list you like.  When you’re done it takes you back to where you were- awesome!  You can get this button on the Kaboodle main page- scroll to the bottom and look for “get the buttons.”

I just realized I need to add Twitter to my bar- off I go!

That’s it!  Hope you find something you like!

Go 31DBB particpants!

3 Responses to “What’s in YOUR Bookmark Bar?”


  1. 1 LakeMom July 20, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I love your list of your favorite bookmarks. You could also create a list of your favorite craft bookmarks (You gave me an idea for another blog that I haven’t been working on lately!). You did peak my interest in some of the sites – I am definitely looking into Picnik (love playing with photos). Thanks for following. New follower from 31DBB.
    LakeMom
    http://www.SurvivingMotherhoodwithHumor.com
    http://www.GuidetoCollegeLife.com

    • 2 Kristen July 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      Hi Natalie:

      You and I seem to bookmark similar sites. I have Ravelry and Ping in my bookmarks. If you are crafty you may also want to bookmark Spoonflower.com – it is a great place to create your own fabric and order other people’s original designs online!

      Thanks for sharing!

      Kristen

  2. 3 Beth Zimmerman July 22, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Thanks for sharing this! My bookmarks bar was just sitting there unproductively! Now it’s all organized and helpful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

